Patient Reviews

Reviews for Beverly Hills, CA Plastic Surgeon Zein Obagi, M.D. Dermatological Consultation Treatments + Services

At the ZO Skin Centre® in Beverly Hills, CA, our goal is to provide you with a luxurious experience and phenomenal care. Led by our founder and dermatologist, Dr. Zein Obagi this flagship location sets the standard for dermatologist and estheticians in the country. Our aesthetics team, nurse practitioner, Anita Gardner, and medical aestheticians Liz Owens, Katie Hasiak, and Margarita Sobko, will work right alongside each patient. In this section, we have compiled reviews and testimonials from current and former patients of ZO Skin Centre® for you to learn about their experience at our facility in Beverly Hills. As a leader in the skin care industry, we provide skin consultations for many conditions or concerns, cosmetic injectables (BOTOX, Restylane, Kybella, and more), laser treatments, and facial and peel treatments. Not only will our staff guide you through the process, but as many patients in this section can attest, we educate each patient on how to best care for their skin type, what products to use, how treatments work, and much more. Please look through these reviews to learn more about our processes and protocols through the eyes of the patients who experienced them at the ZO Skin Centre®.

Filter49 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from F.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2020

Zo Obagi creams are absolutely top notch.  Really recommended!  I have had persistent melasma problems for years.  Now for 7 weeks I follow a skin cream program to suppress this.  after only 2 weeks, and I am not exaggerating, I already had a clear result.  My skin is more even in color, the Peelings process works and my skin feels like baby skin and even my wrinkles are less! May is my medical specialist in this field.  And because every skin is unique, you first have a consultation with her per facetime / to see what is needed and what result you want to achieve yourself.  really she is very professional and will help you further.  There is a solution for everything.  wrinkles, melasma, red vein skin, dry skin ... I am so enthusiastic about the products, but all the more about the time and advice that physician assistant May Ali gives you. I like her a lot she is a TOP expert.  And I also like that they want to see you again after 3/4 weeks.  A lot of attention is paid to this after checking and the process.  So it is not just explanation, and buying products.  Good guidance.  So very committed to the customer!  .  I am very happy and can’t wait until all melasma is under control and that I don’t have to wear make-up more than just sunscreen.  it is really amazing !!  I love Zo Obagi products and Thank  you so much May for taking care of me! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 16, 2020

Zo Obagi creams are absolutely top notch.  Really recommended!  I have had persistent melasma problems for years.  Now for 7 weeks I follow a skin cream program to suppress this.  after only 2 weeks, and I am not exaggerating, I already had a clear result.  My skin is more even in color, the Peelings process works and my skin feels like baby skin and even my wrinkles are less! May is my medical specialist in this field.  And because every skin is unique, you first have a consultation with her per facetime / to see what is needed and what result you want to achieve yourself.  really she is very professional and will help you further.  There is a solution for everything.  wrinkles, melasma, red vein skin, dry skin ... I am so enthusiastic about the products, but all the more about the time and advice that physician assistant May Ali gives you. I like her a lot she is a TOP expert.  And I also like that they want to see you again after 3/4 weeks.  A lot of attention is paid to this after checking and the process.  So it is not just explanation, and buying products.  Good guidance.  So very committed to the customer!  .  I am very happy and can't wait until all melasma is under control and that I don't have to wear make-up more than just sunscreen.  it is really amazing !!  I love Zo Obagi products and Thank  you so much May for taking care of me! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 29, 2020

I have been working with May Ali, Dr. Obagi's physician assistant. As a result, my skin has transformed in ways that I had only hoped for.  My skin looks clearer, blemishes, dark spots and creases have disappeared, and my skin has "tightened" up all over.  The products, with May's guidance, have taken years off of my skin.  I have tried many different products of all price ranges and nothing has worked like this before.  I now have my husband, two young adult daughters, and friends using the products as well. May takes a personalized interest in our care and spends time checking in to see how we are all doing with the skin care system/products, offering suggestions or changes to the routine if needed, and genuinely caring about our individualized needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 29, 2020

I have been working with May Ali, Dr. Obagi’s physician assistant. As a result, my skin has transformed in ways that I had only hoped for.  My skin looks clearer, blemishes, dark spots and creases have disappeared, and my skin has "tightened" up all over.  The products, with May’s guidance, have taken years off of my skin.  I have tried many different products of all price ranges and nothing has worked like this before.  I now have my husband, two young adult daughters, and friends using the products as well. May takes a personalized interest in our care and spends time checking in to see how we are all doing with the skin care system/products, offering suggestions or changes to the routine if needed, and genuinely caring about our individualized needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 16, 2020

This facility continues to be number one for skin care.The Obagi product line is phenomenal.The staff is great and Suzi in particular is a standout for her patience and kindness.I can’t imagine going anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 16, 2020

This facility continues to be number one for skin care. The Obagi product line is phenomenal. The staff is great and Suzi in particular is a standout for her patience and kindness. I can't imagine going anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Red Carpet treatment by Margarita at Obagi Skin Institute. I couldn't be more happy with the way my skin looks! No downtime or discomfort during the procedure. Margarita makes you feel so taken care of and relaxed, I left rejuvenated and rested, my skin glowing. No make up needed, but be responsible with the sunscreen and Margarita will make sure you do by educating you on the applications and different types of sunscreens offered at Obagi. Absolutely recommend this treatment and Hydrofacial as part of your beauty routine and something to get done before the night out or an event. *Office is gorgeous, staff is nice and friendly, very convenient parking across the street. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 24, 2018

Red Carpet treatment by Margarita at Obagi Skin Institute. I couldn't be more happy with the way my skin looks! No downtime or discomfort during the procedure. Margarita makes you feel so taken care of and relaxed, I left rejuvenated and rested, my skin glowing. No make up needed, but be responsible with the sunscreen and Margarita will make sure you do by educating you on the applications and different types of sunscreens offered at Obagi.Absolutely recommend this treatment and Hydrofacial as part of your beauty routine and something to get done before the night out or an event. *Office is gorgeous, staff is nice and friendly, very convenient parking across the street. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2017

I went to the Obagi Skin Health Institute for a consultation with Dr. Bashey two weeks ago and felt he was the "one" to take on my facial concerns.Well, I was right...after getting the fillers Voluma and Vollure for the creases I had on the side of my mouth, my droopy checks and the slight indentations I had under my lips I am a brand new woman!  Let me just say this....it's not that I look any different, it's that Dr. Bashey took the time to examine my face and place the fillers where needed.  I look REFRESHED.  Dr. Bashey was patient with my asking (many) questions, and giving with his answers. I am very pleased with the end result and wanted to give this artist my review :-)Azenath Tovar More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2017

I went to the Obagi Skin Health Institute for a consultation with Dr. Bashey two weeks ago and felt he was the "one" to take on my facial concerns. Well, I was right...after getting the fillers Voluma and Vollure for the creases I had on the side of my mouth, my droopy checks and the slight indentations I had under my lips I am a brand new woman!  Let me just say this....it's not that I look any different, it's that Dr. Bashey took the time to examine my face and place the fillers where needed.  I look REFRESHED.   Dr. Bashey was patient with my asking (many) questions, and giving with his answers. I am very pleased with the end result and wanted to give this artist my review :-) Azenath Tovar More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 04, 2017

Hydro Facial by Margarita is an ultimate must have.I came in for the first time a week ago and I know I will be coming back on a regular basis. My skin is glowing, pores are minimized, make up looks better than ever, but I don't really need one now. Margarita is a real professional with a great touch and amazing energy. She took time to learn about my concerns, my skin care routine and what is that Im looking for to achieve at the appointment. I felt completely comfortable and relaxed while she was doing her magic with my skin. I left Obagi clinic after one hour treatment feeling like I spent a full day at a spa. This is a perfect treatment for the face, that can be done on the day of the special event and/or regularly to keep you look beautiful all the time. See Margarita and your skin will thank you for that... *Office is gorgeous, staff is nice and friendly, very convenient parking across the street. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 28, 2017

I LOVE my treatments by Margarita! My mom frequents the Obagi in Laguna Beach, and has been pushing me for years to go see Dr. Obagi in the Beverly Hills location since I'm in LA. I don't know why it has taken me so long- but I'm so glad I finally did it! My skin looks the best it has in years. Margarita tailored a program for my facials and treatments leading up to my wedding. I am so confident in my skin, and am so thankful that I was put in such great hands! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2017

Outstanding service from Margarita and Dr Obagi!!Love my skin . The products are the best . No need for me to wear make up More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2017

Outstanding service from Margarita and Dr Obagi!! Love my skin . The products are the best . No need for me to wear make up More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 10, 2017

I am leaving this excellent review for Anita and Dr. Bashey.  I can't always refer friends to see Dr. Obagi as often because he's frequently traveling teaching other doctors, but both NP Anita and Dr. Sam Bashey have taking great care of my referrals to the clinics.  Friends in the entertainment industry now remark about how others tell them that their skin looks amazing.  Some didnt realize how much room for improvement existed in their skin until they went to ZO Skin Centre.Dr. Obagi's team - including NP Anita and Dr. Bashey - are my go-to leading skin health professionals who are dedicated to improving patient self-confidence through skin health results that show.  So thankful for their expertise! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 10, 2017

I am leaving this excellent review for Anita and Dr. Bashey.  I can't always refer friends to see Dr. Obagi as often because he's frequently traveling teaching other doctors, but both NP Anita and Dr. Sam Bashey have taking great care of my referrals to the clinics.  Friends in the entertainment industry now remark about how others tell them that their skin looks amazing.  Some didnt realize how much room for improvement existed in their skin until they went to ZO Skin Centre. Dr. Obagi's team - including NP Anita and Dr. Bashey - are my go-to leading skin health professionals who are dedicated to improving patient self-confidence through skin health results that show.  So thankful for their expertise! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2017

Today I started my journey with Dr. Obagi's products. As I suffer from acne till this day, I am hesitant to see results and my money's worth for what I paid. I did feel a bit on edge today because I felt like I did not receive enough attention during my consultation. It felt rushed and I felt put aside and I am not too happy about that. I would not recommend anyone to seek this facility for help regarding acne. I started off with moderate almost nothing on my face (just pigmentation and scars) after using the products (long list of them almost about 10 products) my face began to break out and turn red almost purple. They follow the philosophy of worse before better; which does not coincide with my way of thinking. I stopped using the products after two months and now my face is full of scars and the redness remains. I would not recommend this place at all. Save your money, your time and your skin. Reply to Obagi: Thanks !!! Now I have severely damaged skin and it will never look the same thanks to your products. They all damaged and burned  my skin. Save your money !!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2017

Today I started my journey with Dr. Obagi's products. As I suffer from acne till this day, I am hesitant to see results and my money's worth for what I paid. I did feel a bit on edge today because I felt like I did not receive enough attention during my consultation. It felt rushed and I felt put aside and I am not too happy about that. I would not recommend anyone to seek this facility for help regarding acne. I started off with moderate almost nothing on my face (just pigmentation and scars) after using the products (long list of them almost about 10 products) my face began to break out and turn red almost purple. They follow the philosophy of worse before better; which does not coincide with my way of thinking. I stopped using the products after two months and now my face is full of scars and the redness remains.I would not recommend this place at all. Save your money, your time and your skin. Reply to Obagi:Thanks !!! Now I have severely damaged skin and it will never look the same thanks to your products. They all damaged and burned  my skin. Save your money !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 24, 2017

Using Melamix and Vitamin A including the whole regimen cleared my skin and made it flawless. Never had better skin in my life while under the regimen! Obagi is the best! Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2017

Dr Obagi and staff I have been a loyal customer for many years because Dr Obagi is the best! He has a progressive scientific approach to skin care that yields effective results! Obagi and his awesome professional staff educates and demonstrates they are more than just a BRAND. Thank you my health and life has improved because of your genius! Javan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2017

Dr Obagi and staffI have been a loyal customer for many years because Dr Obagi is the best! He has a progressive scientific approach to skin care that yields effective results! Obagi and his awesome professional staff educates and demonstrates they are more than just a BRAND. Thank you my health and life has improved because of your genius!Javan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2017

Hi I experienced remarkable results as a patient of Dr. Obsgi . I am a 62 year old male major airline Captain I came in with highly UV photo damaged , aged skin, sagging (skin laxity) roseasia. As the doctor said - "your skin cells are asleep!" I had a combined CO2/fractal laser and Blue Peel - easy recovery and amazing results, tightened youthful skin. Dr. Obsgi has a strict skin preparation program pre-procedure for most effective results. This may be 30-90 days. Staff and patient education are amazing. This is a "skin health institute" with on site outpatient surgery center.   Dr Obagi is a pioneer in the field of dermatology skin health. Post procedure I had a "recovery" phase using Obsgi skin products. The Obagi skin product is science based , effective and pleasant to use. Now I get constant unsolicited compliments with people saying that I look 20 years younger ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2017

Hi I experienced remarkable results as a patient ofDr. Obsgi . I am a 62 year old male major airlineCaptain I came in with highly UV photo damaged , aged skin, sagging (skin laxity) roseasia. As the doctor said - "your skin cells are asleep!"I had a combined CO2/fractal laser and Blue Peel- easy recovery and amazing results, tightened youthful skin.Dr. Obsgi has a strict skin preparation program pre-procedure for most effective results. Thismay be 30-90 days.Staff and patient education are amazing. Thisis a "skin health institute" with on site outpatient surgery center.  Dr Obagi is a pioneer in the field of dermatology skin health.Post procedure I had a "recovery" phase using Obsgi skin products. The Obagi skin product is science based , effectiveand pleasant to use.Now I get constant unsolicited compliments withpeople saying that I look 20 years younger ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 25, 2016

The best place for skin care, period. Dr. Obagi is a genius, a world renowned skin care expert. His skin care products are second to none. The staff is great, and Suzi in particular is a gem, always friendly and efficient. Erin is a sweetheart too. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 29, 2016

I went to see Dr. Obagi earlier this year to get 2nd opinion on a bump on my face that I thought was cancer.   My original dermatologist wanted to remove it which would have left a scar.  The moment Dr. Obagi walked into the room he easily diagnosed that it was nothing but a wart (embarrassing).  If I would have went with the advice of my original dermatologist, I would have had an unnecessary scar on face!  To my surprised he diagnosed I had Rosacea and recommended an aggressive treatment that I have just started.  I found the staff incredibly knowledgable about the ZO skin line, professional, and caring.  Also, they were very helpful in walking me through how to use the products (several times).  I've already recommended Dr. Obagi to several friends and will continue to do so. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2016

Dr. Obagi is the only dermatologist that was able to help me with my acne! He is the best hands down! Also Renee is the sweetest medical assistant ever! Staff is very nice! The products really work they're transforming my skin! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from V.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 16, 2016

Dr. Obagi teaches you how to approach your skin in a scientific manner. I've always read about new products and stocked up my cabinets with some of the most expensive skin care lines out there, but now I see that I was just being brainwashed by magazines. I have seen the most improvement when using his products. You can meet with him so that he can assess your skin and tell you exactly which of his products to purchase and how to use them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 08, 2016

The best doctors, staff and products in the business. If you want to really take care of your skin, do yourself a favor and visit the Obagi Skin Health Institute! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 22, 2016

I don't often give five star reviews but I feel as a regular and longtime satisfied customer I had to. The ZO Skin Centre has saved my skin ever since my days of acne and rosacea till many of my skin emergencies today. I have never been anything but satisfied by the care, products, and results. Their skin products are high quality and effective and I recommend them to everyone. I even purchase their ZO Skin products as gifts for my family members. I highly recommend coming here and Dr. Obagi More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 22, 2016

I don't often give five star reviews but I feel as a regular and longtime satisfied customer I had to. The ZO Skin Centre has saved my skin ever since my days of acne and rosacea till many of my skin emergencies today. I have never been anything but satisfied by the care, products, and results. Their skin products are high quality and effective and I recommend them to everyone.I even purchase their ZO Skin products as gifts for my family members. I highly recommend coming here and Dr. Obagi More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 27, 2016

I gotta say, I was a little worried to come in after seeing a handful of negative reviews. But now, it's safe to say that unfavorable feedbacks should in no way stop anyone from visiting this clinic, because these guys know how to brings results. They've come up with a standard, yet very elaborate approach on how to treat problematic skin/adult acne. And it works! It not only fixes the main condition, but improves the quality of skin as well. Unlike many respected derm docs that give out prescriptions that target the acne problem solely, at Obagi there is an entire program designed to fix all possible skin complications. I can't stress enough how important this is, especially if you have sensitive skin that reacts to every slight impact on it. Also unlike many beauty spots, they didn't pretend facials would make a noticeable change and insisted on me taking more significant steps to handle the matter. Yes, the prices are high and maybe someone in the past had possible unpleasant interactions with the staff. But I honestly can say that when you've been struggling with adult acne for a long time, the results overweight everything else.   I wanna recommend this clinic to everyone with skin concerns. I've gone through my treatment without taking any medications internally and it was the most, I wanna repeat, the most effective one I've tried ... I hope they'll think about expanding to other countries, because their products are as efficient  as one can hope for. This is my first and probably last review on yelp. I just felt like someone has to do justice to this place and explain why the readers should try to oversee the negative reviews in favor of permanent results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 27, 2016

I gotta say, I was a little worried to come in after seeing a handful of negative reviews. But now, it's safe to say that unfavorable feedbacks should in no way stop anyone from visiting this clinic, because these guys know how to brings results.They've come up with a standard, yet very elaborate approach on how to treat problematic skin/adult acne. And it works! It not only fixes the main condition, but improves the quality of skin as well. Unlike many respected derm docs that give out prescriptions that target the acne problem solely, at Obagi there is an entire program designed to fix all possible skin complications. I can't stress enough how important this is, especially if you have sensitive skin that reacts to every slight impact on it. Also unlike many beauty spots, they didn't pretend facials would make a noticeable change and insisted on me taking more significant steps to handle the matter.Yes, the prices are high and maybe someone in the past had possible unpleasant interactions with the staff. But I honestly can say that when you've been struggling with adult acne for a long time, the results overweight everything else.  I wanna recommend this clinic to everyone with skin concerns. I've gone through my treatment without taking any medications internally and it was the most, I wanna repeat, the most effective one I've tried ... I hope they'll think about expanding to other countries, because their products are as efficient  as one can hope for. This is my first and probably last review on yelp. I just felt like someone has to do justice to this place and explain why the readers should try to oversee the negative reviews in favor of permanent results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2016

My mom found Dr. Obagi in a magazine 20+ years ago and not only has he helped her immensely, he has helped me as well! I started going to Obagi for my acne when I was a young teenager after Kaiser dermatologists were no help. I got on his regimen and it helped me, but as I continued going through puberty and my acne was getting worse, I needed something more as nothing else was working. He recommended accutane for me (twice! the first time I didn't listen!) and I'm so glad he did. It was the only thing that worked and now 2 years after he prescribed it/insisted I get on it and even suggesting I go through Kaiser as it'd be cheaper there and about 6 months after finishing my course on accutane, I am acne free. He knows what he's doing and his products work. If you listen to him and do what he suggests, you'll be happy with your skin. I've also gone there for facials with Liz and she is the best! Suzy is also always friendly and welcoming. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 29, 2015

Best facial ever with expert Aestitician Liz at the Dr Obagi institute. My skin has gone from dull & dry to smooth & fresh.  I'll be making Liz a beautification must have.  Love my daily Dr Obagi's product regiment. I can now age more gracefully for sure.  I'm thrilled.  5 star service from KC & Kayla ending with a tour of their luxurious Beverly Hills location & product store.  I've been searching for a product line to fall In love with. I've finally found it. It's not just hype it truly makes a difference and quickly. Liz customized a facial that has left me transformed. Stem cell mask!  Need I say more?  LED, HydroMicroCurrent, Microderm, oxygen infusion... and fabulous massage. Thank you Liz!  Next time I'll add in their latest IV vitamin infusion. Loving my new skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 27, 2015

Dr. Obagi's products literally changed my life! I've suffered from adult acne since my early 20's and its taken a toll on my psychological state of mind; not feeling good about myself had a negative trickle down effect when it came to all areas of my life and I lacked confidence. I can say that I've tried every acne product on the market. I've been prescribed topical acne medications, organic face washes, and other expensive skin care brands and nothing has worked the way Obagi's products have. I've seen consistent progress and am beyond thrilled with the results. I feel like I can do anything now and have definitely found a new sense of confidence. I saw Nurse practitioner Anita and she was amazing. Everyone there is so warm, friendly, and accommodating. I just wish I would have found Dr. Obagi sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 13, 2014

I am from Palo Alto and was traveling to Los Angeles  when I fell, sustaining a few minor facial cuts.  A friend who saw me said I definitely would need stitches and suggested Obagi Skin Health Institute.  They took me immediately and I was impressed with their care, skill, and concern.  This is a first class institute.  I always joked that if I ever had plastic surgery, it would be in Beverly Hills.  Now I can say I have!  I would love to return and explore their many options for maintaining good skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 17, 2014

Commit to Obagi's aggressive regime and your skin will be transformed. What's a better investment than always putting your best face forward? More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2014

After seeing all the positive reviews on the Obagi products I decided to make an appointment at the actual clinic.  The office is located in the heart of Beverly Hills and is clean and modern. I did not have to wait long to get into my appointment.  The front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. They started out by taking photos of my skin with no makeup prior to me going into the treatment room. This is so they can track my progress when I would come in for a follow-up visit. My concern was that I recently had been suffering from some breakouts that I wanted to get undercontrol. I wanted to have my skin reevaluated and analyzed so that I could have a new skincare regime. I paid the hefty fee of $400 to meet with a Obagi himself. It was informative and he recommended a new skincare routine for me. He did try to sell me on some fillers additionally but I passed on those because I have a cosmetic surgeon  whom I  already go to for that. I ended up investing around $550 for the new products. When I first started using them my skin reacted to them. But once my skin got used to it all the results have been amazing.  I get many compliments from people asking what I use for my skin because it looks so good. All breakouts are undercontrol and if I do happen to get a blemish here and there the product's that I have knock it out in less than a few days. I've tried many skincare lines and not had as good as results as I do with Obagi. For my follow-up visit I decided just to see the physicians assistant because I felt that paying $250 just for a follow-up with Obagi himself was a bit steep especially since my skin has improved and was looking great . His PA charges a lower fee that is more reasonable. That is my only reasoning for the four stars because I think his pricing is a bit high for a 20 minute visit. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2014

After seeing all the positive reviews on the Obagi products I decided to make an appointment at the actual clinic.  The office is located in the heart of Beverly Hills and is clean and modern. I did not have to wait long to get into my appointment.  The front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. They started out by taking photos of my skin with no makeup prior to me going into the treatment room. This is so they can track my progress when I would come in for a follow-up visit.My concern was that I recently had been suffering from some breakouts that I wanted to get undercontrol. I wanted to have my skin reevaluated and analyzed so that I could have a new skincare regime. I paid the hefty fee of $400 to meet with a Obagi himself. It was informative and he recommended a new skincare routine for me. He did try to sell me on some fillers additionally but I passed on those because I have a cosmetic surgeon  whom I  already go to for that. I ended up investing around $550 for the new products. When I first started using them my skin reacted to them. But once my skin got used to it all the results have been amazing.  I get many compliments from people asking what I use for my skin because it looks so good. All breakouts are undercontrol and if I do happen to get a blemish here and there the product's that I have knock it out in less than a few days. I've tried many skincare lines and not had as good as results as I do with Obagi. For my follow-up visit I decided just to see the physicians assistant because I felt that paying $250 just for a follow-up with Obagi himself was a bit steep especially since my skin has improved and was looking great . His PA charges a lower fee that is more reasonable. That is my only reasoning for the four stars because I think his pricing is a bit high for a 20 minute visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 15, 2013

Dr. Obagi is an absolute genius. My skin is finally on the right track to where I want it to be after constant picking and deep scars. During my consultation, he had a sense of humor and was straight to the point with my skin's problems. The institute and its staff are lovely and very high-end. I came in to buy more products again and am so excited to keep seeing results. The products are worth the price, they actually WORK. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 08, 2013

I have been suffering from acne since high school. Before visiting the Obagi Skin Health Institute, I have tried a lot of the over-the-counter treatments, like the Proactive, Clinique, Neutrogena, etc. All of these had worked for a while, and then stopped working. And none of them can actually reduce/control my breakouts and my acne scars that left behind. I finally decided to visit the dermatologist last year after being depressed with the OTC treatments. And I am so happy that I made the decision. To be honestly, I didn't do a lot of research on which dermatologist that I'm gonna visit. I just googled it, and Obagi popped up! I called for an appointment and the miracle has begun! My first consultation was with the well-famed Dr. Obagi. As all the negative reviews said, it was right that he didn't spend a lot of time with me, totally about 20 minutes. By then I was using all OTC products. But I convinced myself to switch to the all Obagi products after seeing how great skin Dr. Obagi himself has. I'm not gonna lie that everything was sooooooooo expensive. But the result makes me believe that you get what you pay for. Before I made my decision on whether I'm gonna start the program, Dr. Obagi warned me about the possible side effects in the first month, including severe peeling and redness. I was scared. But my skin was pretty bad at that time. So I thought I had nothing more to lose. I started the Obagi program in Feb. last year, and went out of it in Sept. I think. It was a very harsh program. My skin was peeking and extremely red with pain in the first month. Nothing actually helped with the side effects. I was a little bit afraid. But all the reviews online were saying that these were normal. And I remembered that Dr. Obagi also warned me about these. So I insisted in the program. In the meantime, my acne was already under control. I got very few breakouts. And none of them were as big as they were before. I was in the program for about 6-7 months. I walked out with natural glowing skin. Most of my acne scars were cleared out. And my breakouts were under control. During the program, I forced myself to stick with the products that Dr. Obagi prescribed except for some extremely gentle hydrating products. I also got regular facial to get off the dead skin. I was also put into the accutane program for 5 months. My insurance didn't cover it. So it was expensive. But I was very lucky that I didn't have any side effects. I don't know how well accutane worked because I was using the Obagi products in conjunction with it. But the whole program cleared me out. Starting from this year, I thought I would try out some other medical brands and stopped using all Obagi products for couple of months. And this is true. My acne went worse. It was not as bad as it was before the treatment. But it definitely went worse comparing last year. So I went back to use the complex A cream, the blender cream and the Te-pads in conjunction with other non-Obagi products. After a month of doing so, my skin was back to normal again. Even during my cycle period, I didn't get a single big breakout. Obagi program is definitely nose-bleeding expensive. And it is also a very harsh program. I don't think everybody can tolerate it. So do the research before going there. If you can't get over with the peeling and redness, then it probably is not for you. Since I started the program, I am getting so many compliments on my skin. And I even referred a friend there. And she was also getting very satisfactory results. All I want to say is that if you decide to go there, then just fully trust the doctors there; follow strictly with the program; be patient and be consistent. You will see results. And you will get what you pay for. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 08, 2013

I have been suffering from acne since high school. Before visiting the Obagi Skin Health Institute, I have tried a lot of the over-the-counter treatments, like the Proactive, Clinique, Neutrogena, etc. All of these had worked for a while, and then stopped working. And none of them can actually reduce/control my breakouts and my acne scars that left behind.I finally decided to visit the dermatologist last year after being depressed with the OTC treatments. And I am so happy that I made the decision. To be honestly, I didn't do a lot of research on which dermatologist that I'm gonna visit. I just googled it, and Obagi popped up! I called for an appointment and the miracle has begun!My first consultation was with the well-famed Dr. Obagi. As all the negative reviews said, it was right that he didn't spend a lot of time with me, totally about 20 minutes. By then I was using all OTC products. But I convinced myself to switch to the all Obagi products after seeing how great skin Dr. Obagi himself has. I'm not gonna lie that everything was sooooooooo expensive. But the result makes me believe that you get what you pay for.Before I made my decision on whether I'm gonna start the program, Dr. Obagi warned me about the possible side effects in the first month, including severe peeling and redness. I was scared. But my skin was pretty bad at that time. So I thought I had nothing more to lose. I started the Obagi program in Feb. last year, and went out of it in Sept. I think.It was a very harsh program. My skin was peeking and extremely red with pain in the first month. Nothing actually helped with the side effects. I was a little bit afraid. But all the reviews online were saying that these were normal. And I remembered that Dr. Obagi also warned me about these. So I insisted in the program. In the meantime, my acne was already under control. I got very few breakouts. And none of them were as big as they were before. I was in the program for about 6-7 months. I walked out with natural glowing skin. Most of my acne scars were cleared out. And my breakouts were under control. During the program, I forced myself to stick with the products that Dr. Obagi prescribed except for some extremely gentle hydrating products. I also got regular facial to get off the dead skin. I was also put into the accutane program for 5 months. My insurance didn't cover it. So it was expensive. But I was very lucky that I didn't have any side effects. I don't know how well accutane worked because I was using the Obagi products in conjunction with it. But the whole program cleared me out.Starting from this year, I thought I would try out some other medical brands and stopped using all Obagi products for couple of months. And this is true. My acne went worse. It was not as bad as it was before the treatment. But it definitely went worse comparing last year. So I went back to use the complex A cream, the blender cream and the Te-pads in conjunction with other non-Obagi products. After a month of doing so, my skin was back to normal again. Even during my cycle period, I didn't get a single big breakout.Obagi program is definitely nose-bleeding expensive. And it is also a very harsh program. I don't think everybody can tolerate it. So do the research before going there. If you can't get over with the peeling and redness, then it probably is not for you. Since I started the program, I am getting so many compliments on my skin. And I even referred a friend there. And she was also getting very satisfactory results. All I want to say is that if you decide to go there, then just fully trust the doctors there; follow strictly with the program; be patient and be consistent. You will see results. And you will get what you pay for. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 30, 2011

I had some Cystic Acne at the age of 40!! I couldn't shave on a daily basis because my skin was very sensitive. After using different products and wasting my money, I went to see Dr. Obagi. The result: very healthy, firm skin. No more cystic acne, and I could shave without any bumps and acne!!!! I highly recommend this institute. I have been dealing with Dr. Obagi, and his registered nurse Diana. Very happy with the office staff and the result is amazing. The only downfall is that the visits are costly and they don't accept insurance, but you could submit the recite to your health insurance and they reimburse you partially. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2011

My first review here on yelp to my favorite place in Beverly Hills. Obagi is the best. For my skin Obagi is the only skin care program that works. Yes it can be a hard skin care routine, with the peeling and redness, but you will visibly and feel the difference. Its quite pricey but its worth it. I love Liz and how she become a friend to my and Tony. She gives the best facial ever. Very relaxing and really you know that she is taking her time to clean your face. Everybody in the clinic is so pleasant and beautiful. They always welcome me with a big smile. I swear by Obagi and will never use any other skincare line. I will never trust my skincare needs to any other doctors but Obagi. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 09, 2010

I guess first off I should say that I am one of those people who started getting blemishes (what a soft word) at 12 or 13, and they never went away.  Had them through my teens, 20's, 30's, 40's and 50's (really).  The sites moved around, forehead to all over to chin.  Tried Accutane in my 30's when it first came out (got a "remission" of acne for about 6 years, didn't want to take another round because I was child bearing).  Throughout my life I have battled acne and dealt with the emotional effects.  In addition to Accutane, I've used benzol peroxide, tetracycline, cleocine, retin-A, the pill, Christine Valmay, Dermatalogica, Erno Lazlo, over the counter remedies too numerous to mention or even remember, and even toothpaste and windex (courtesy of My Big Fat Greek Wedding, it worked for Aidan but not for me). OK, there are my credentials.Obagi......OMG.  The counsultation is $200, and Dr. Obagi doesn't say much (I think he says the same thing to everyone) so you could actually skip that if you want to purchase his products online instead of in his office, it is the same stuff.The products work.  That is all I can say.  I am 59 and my skin is smooth, the age spots are GONE, no blemishes (whoever tells you that acne ends after menopause is wrong),  no peeling from using the wrong stuff (you can always use less if you peel from his products, and some peeling is good), I guess the best thing I can say is that I don't spend any time worrying about my skin, and I feel great about how my skin looks. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 08, 2008

I've been here for over 3 years now.  The people and service are awesome!  You can't get any better than this.  The doctors and receptionists are willing to answer any of the questions I had regarding the treatment.  I would absolutely recommend Obagi Skin Health Institute. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 12, 2008

I've been using Obagi for about 3 years now. It's one of the best things I could've ever done for myself - but having blemish free skin is not cheap. First off, the consultation to see Dr. Obagi is $200 alone. He stays with you about 10 minutes, touches your face a couple of times and then you're done. I think he said no more than 20 words to me, and included in that was - you use too much moisturizer. So, he recommended to me that I use the Obagi CR-X system. For all the pieces in the set - it's about $500 and if used properly you are going to need a refill on your products every 1.5 month. The great thing is that often times, the sunblock and face wash will last longer than the others so you only need to buy that stuff every other refill period. Mind you those are the cheapest things within the set - so you still need to shell out major bucks. Thank god they allow you to buy things separately so you don't have to shell out the $500 each time, but expect to spend at least $300 every now and then.If you have bad skin going into it, I suggest you use the Obagi Nu Derm system - you'll peel but it does wonders. A good friend of mine uses it and she has amazing skin now! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 20, 2008

this is by far the best skin treatment clinic & doctor.  Although I spend about $2000/year for products and treatments, I think this is by far much less expensive than some of the "spa facials" and expensive cosmetics you buy from dept stores.  I've been a patient of Dr Obagi for over 10 years and have referred everyone I know who is interested in skin care (some of my friends have had serious problems with pigmentation spots from sun exposure).  My skin is i the best conditio since my 30's (and I'm almost 60).  Most people think I'm in my 40's.  I cannot more highly recommend a skin treatment.  Although you may have to wait to see Dr Obagi, it is worth the wait.  He is very no nonsense and direct in his diagnosis.  His daughter, Sandra, manages the San Gabriel clinic and does the facials (therapeutic, not be confused with spa facials).  She is really good and takes time to answer questions and make recommendations). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2006

Dr. Obagi is a well-known skin-care specialist...he even has his own clinically proven Obagi system to treat hyperpigmentation, pot-marks, etc.  Seriously...it's a MIRACLE system.During his consultation (which runs $200-350 depending on how many issues he's talking to you about...me, it was just pigmentation) he'll look you over with a fine-tooth comb (literally, checks your face and hair-line and so on) and then he'll A) diagnose B) diagram what's going on with your skin and WHY C) talk about what you've done in the past to correct it D) illustrate with pen and paper how he's going to fix it E) goes over which products will work for you and how to use them.  He's very approachable, likeable, knowledgeable...he'll answer any and all questions.  Basically he told me that I should just go hom and give all of my skin-care products to someone I don't like...cuz none of them work! lolIf you want to TRANSFORM your skin and not just MASK it...go to Dr. Obagi. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.