270 N. Canon Drive Suite 100
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
424-365-8200

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Beverly Hills, CA Plastic Surgeon Zein Obagi, M.D.

At the ZO Skin Centre® in Beverly Hills, CA, our goal is to provide you with a luxurious experience and phenomenal care. Led by our founder and dermatologist, Dr. Zein Obagi and dermatological surgeon, Dr. Sameer Bashey, this flagship location sets the standard for dermatologist and estheticians in the country. Our aesthetics team, nurse practitioner, Anita Gardner, and medical aestheticians Liz Owens, Katie Hasiak, and Margarita Sobko, will work right alongside each patient. In this section, we have compiled reviews and testimonials from current and former patients of ZO Skin Centre® for you to learn about their experience at our facility in Beverly Hills. As a leader in the skin care industry, we provide skin consultations for many conditions or concerns, cosmetic injectables (BOTOX, Restylane, Kybella, and more), laser treatments, and facial and peel treatments. Not only will our staff guide you through the process, but as many patients in this section can attest, we educate each patient on how to best care for their skin type, what products to use, how treatments work, and much more. Please look through these reviews to learn more about our processes and protocols through the eyes of the patients who experienced them at the ZO Skin Centre®.

Filter11 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 18, 2017

The centre itself and is one of the most world known places for cosmetology and Dr. Obagi is definitely a humble superstar of the industry. A lot of insiders and doctors come here for their procedures. I personally met Margarita only so far but had a great experience with her. She is very knowledgable, constantly evolving her professional experience, very caring and will never suggest anything with potential strong side effects. The front desk staff are amazing: attentive and helpful. Will be coming here on a regular basis. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2017

Outstanding service from Margarita and Dr Obagi!!Love my skin . The products are the best . No need for me to wear make up More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 27, 2017

Outstanding service from Margarita and Dr Obagi!! Love my skin . The products are the best . No need for me to wear make up More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 25, 2017

Love Anita, Elin, and Dr. Obaji! I love all their products and I always leave satisfied. xoxo More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2017

Dr Obagi and staff I have been a loyal customer for many years because Dr Obagi is the best! He has a progressive scientific approach to skin care that yields effective results! Obagi and his awesome professional staff educates and demonstrates they are more than just a BRAND. Thank you my health and life has improved because of your genius! Javan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2017

Hi I experienced remarkable results as a patient of Dr. Obsgi . I am a 62 year old male major airline Captain I came in with highly UV photo damaged , aged skin, sagging (skin laxity) roseasia. As the doctor said - "your skin cells are asleep!" I had a combined CO2/fractal laser and Blue Peel - easy recovery and amazing results, tightened youthful skin. Dr. Obsgi has a strict skin preparation program pre-procedure for most effective results. This may be 30-90 days. Staff and patient education are amazing. This is a "skin health institute" with on site outpatient surgery center.   Dr Obagi is a pioneer in the field of dermatology skin health. Post procedure I had a "recovery" phase using Obsgi skin products. The Obagi skin product is science based , effective and pleasant to use. Now I get constant unsolicited compliments with people saying that I look 20 years younger ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 08, 2013

I have been suffering from acne since high school. Before visiting the Obagi Skin Health Institute, I have tried a lot of the over-the-counter treatments, like the Proactive, Clinique, Neutrogena, etc. All of these had worked for a while, and then stopped working. And none of them can actually reduce/control my breakouts and my acne scars that left behind. I finally decided to visit the dermatologist last year after being depressed with the OTC treatments. And I am so happy that I made the decision. To be honestly, I didn't do a lot of research on which dermatologist that I'm gonna visit. I just googled it, and Obagi popped up! I called for an appointment and the miracle has begun! My first consultation was with the well-famed Dr. Obagi. As all the negative reviews said, it was right that he didn't spend a lot of time with me, totally about 20 minutes. By then I was using all OTC products. But I convinced myself to switch to the all Obagi products after seeing how great skin Dr. Obagi himself has. I'm not gonna lie that everything was sooooooooo expensive. But the result makes me believe that you get what you pay for. Before I made my decision on whether I'm gonna start the program, Dr. Obagi warned me about the possible side effects in the first month, including severe peeling and redness. I was scared. But my skin was pretty bad at that time. So I thought I had nothing more to lose. I started the Obagi program in Feb. last year, and went out of it in Sept. I think. It was a very harsh program. My skin was peeking and extremely red with pain in the first month. Nothing actually helped with the side effects. I was a little bit afraid. But all the reviews online were saying that these were normal. And I remembered that Dr. Obagi also warned me about these. So I insisted in the program. In the meantime, my acne was already under control. I got very few breakouts. And none of them were as big as they were before. I was in the program for about 6-7 months. I walked out with natural glowing skin. Most of my acne scars were cleared out. And my breakouts were under control. During the program, I forced myself to stick with the products that Dr. Obagi prescribed except for some extremely gentle hydrating products. I also got regular facial to get off the dead skin. I was also put into the accutane program for 5 months. My insurance didn't cover it. So it was expensive. But I was very lucky that I didn't have any side effects. I don't know how well accutane worked because I was using the Obagi products in conjunction with it. But the whole program cleared me out. Starting from this year, I thought I would try out some other medical brands and stopped using all Obagi products for couple of months. And this is true. My acne went worse. It was not as bad as it was before the treatment. But it definitely went worse comparing last year. So I went back to use the complex A cream, the blender cream and the Te-pads in conjunction with other non-Obagi products. After a month of doing so, my skin was back to normal again. Even during my cycle period, I didn't get a single big breakout. Obagi program is definitely nose-bleeding expensive. And it is also a very harsh program. I don't think everybody can tolerate it. So do the research before going there. If you can't get over with the peeling and redness, then it probably is not for you. Since I started the program, I am getting so many compliments on my skin. And I even referred a friend there. And she was also getting very satisfactory results. All I want to say is that if you decide to go there, then just fully trust the doctors there; follow strictly with the program; be patient and be consistent. You will see results. And you will get what you pay for. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 10, 2013

I am a fair skinned woman in my 50's who spent a decade in tanning booths and at the beach and thus contracted malignant basil cell carcinoma on my face and body. Dr. Obagi is a scientific genius who was knighted by the Queen of England for his innovative, state of the art skin care products which are used worldwide. His belief in his regimen is steadfast and he clearly states as much. Dr. Obagi is not one to mince words nor does he have to. His reputation is impeccable, as are the results of his skin care program. With dedication to the regimen, proper product usage and patience you will see amazing results in several months. You must be humble enough to weather the initial redness and flaking of your skin which is hideous, in order to achieve luminous, smooth, elegant skin. You must maintain the regimen and invest in the products. I, too, was skeptical about taking accutane and resisted for a year and a half. Wrong. At a pediatric dose it has further  improved the texture of my skin and obliterated the large pores on my nose.  Thanks to Diane's artistry with botox and fillers I look like my best natural self.  Know this- I hate going to doctors, using "toxic chemicals", and paying a fortune for anything. But this system works and according to peeps I look 15 years younger than I am. Ladies and gents I am a believer. Dr. O and his staff ROCK! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2015

I hope that my reviews of other establishments do not bring this place into disrepute :)  This place is in a class of its own.   Want your face fixed?  Then this is the place to go!   Botox - Check Restylane - Check Juvaderm - Check Blue laser peels - Check Vitamin injections - Check Back in the day, circa 2002, I would fly from NYC to BH to meet Dr. Obagi to fix my face.  13 years later, I still visit the office to fix my face for my occasional breakouts.  I just walk in there and yell please fix my face!  When I moved back east, I experienced some discoloration on my cheeks (must have been the pollution and god knows what else in the NYC subway atmosphere).  I went to several top-notch dermatologists in NYC and they couldn't fix my situation.  I'm vain - I admit that.  So I'll spend a pretty penny to erase my flaws.  So I flew back monthly to see Obagi.  AND, he fixed my face! Unlike most women in BH, I have not yet tried any injections or surgery.  So no botox, restylane, or juvaderm YET.  I might, hmmm, still considering if the face becomes dreadful in a decade. A long time ago the office visits were around $150.  I think Obagi now charges $450 or higher.  This excludes the products of course and any treatments.  I used to see him when I started the program.  However, I now see the NP.  The NP is substantially lower for the office visit.  Visiting Obagi is one step closer to the miracle - yes that's right!  The products are a miracle.  I was on the old nu derm program and although painful for the summer it was well worth the pain.  Just to give you an idea:  your face cracks, it's beet red, slightly painful, peeling, irritating, and you're essentially a vampire because you can't expose yourself to the sun too much.  All of this is explicitly disclosed in painstaking detail by everyone in that office which is good, so you know what you're getting into and to avoid lawsuits :) After several months, however, I got the plastic surgery for probably around the same cost. BUT without having to go under the knife.  I received so many compliments and some said  my face looked like a baby.  My skin was soft, no blemishes, smooth, uniform color, but a bit pink for several months.  The results lasted years and my face still looks pretty good just not as good as it did right after the program ended.  However, this has to do with me not being consistent with the maintenance program.  I went in to remove the discoloration and I came out with a new face.  The results were mind-boggling. The best part of the program is that the results are not superficial.  If you read the materials and discuss with Dr. Obagi, you'll learn that the products are meant to attack under the surface and get to the root of the problem.  Hence, the long term effects.  Now, I just have the occasional breakout and visit the office once a year for standard checkup.  Thank you Obagi for my youthful face!  I sometimes get confused for a high school student, often get carded, and look 10 years younger than my real age. The reason for the 4-star:  the costs.  The prices have skyrocketed over the years.  Although, I still go to Obagi and buy the products.  I refuse to use anything else. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2015

I hope that my reviews of other establishments do not bring this place into disrepute :)  This place is in a class of its own.  Want your face fixed?  Then this is the place to go!  Botox - CheckRestylane - CheckJuvaderm - CheckBlue laser peels - CheckVitamin injections - Check Back in the day, circa 2002, I would fly from NYC to BH to meet Dr. Obagi to fix my face.  13 years later, I still visit the office to fix my face for my occasional breakouts.  I just walk in there and yell please fix my face!  When I moved back east, I experienced some discoloration on my cheeks (must have been the pollution and god knows what else in the NYC subway atmosphere).  I went to several top-notch dermatologists in NYC and they couldn't fix my situation.  I'm vain - I admit that.  So I'll spend a pretty penny to erase my flaws.  So I flew back monthly to see Obagi.  AND, he fixed my face! Unlike most women in BH, I have not yet tried any injections or surgery.  So no botox, restylane, or juvaderm YET.  I might, hmmm, still considering if the face becomes dreadful in a decade. A long time ago the office visits were around $150.  I think Obagi now charges $450 or higher.  This excludes the products of course and any treatments.  I used to see him when I started the program.  However, I now see the NP.  The NP is substantially lower for the office visit.  Visiting Obagi is one step closer to the miracle - yes that's right!  The products are a miracle.  I was on the old nu derm program and although painful for the summer it was well worth the pain.  Just to give you an idea:  your face cracks, it's beet red, slightly painful, peeling, irritating, and you're essentially a vampire because you can't expose yourself to the sun too much.  All of this is explicitly disclosed in painstaking detail by everyone in that office which is good, so you know what you're getting into and to avoid lawsuits :) After several months, however, I got the plastic surgery for probably around the same cost. BUT without having to go under the knife.  I received so many compliments and some said  my face looked like a baby.  My skin was soft, no blemishes, smooth, uniform color, but a bit pink for several months.  The results lasted years and my face still looks pretty good just not as good as it did right after the program ended.  However, this has to do with me not being consistent with the maintenance program.  I went in to remove the discoloration and I came out with a new face.  The results were mind-boggling. The best part of the program is that the results are not superficial.  If you read the materials and discuss with Dr. Obagi, you'll learn that the products are meant to attack under the surface and get to the root of the problem.  Hence, the long term effects.  Now, I just have the occasional breakout and visit the office once a year for standard checkup.  Thank you Obagi for my youthful face!  I sometimes get confused for a high school student, often get carded, and look 10 years younger than my real age.The reason for the 4-star:  the costs.  The prices have skyrocketed over the years.  Although, I still go to Obagi and buy the products.  I refuse to use anything else. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2014

After seeing all the positive reviews on the Obagi products I decided to make an appointment at the actual clinic.  The office is located in the heart of Beverly Hills and is clean and modern. I did not have to wait long to get into my appointment.  The front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. They started out by taking photos of my skin with no makeup prior to me going into the treatment room. This is so they can track my progress when I would come in for a follow-up visit. My concern was that I recently had been suffering from some breakouts that I wanted to get undercontrol. I wanted to have my skin reevaluated and analyzed so that I could have a new skincare regime. I paid the hefty fee of $400 to meet with a Obagi himself. It was informative and he recommended a new skincare routine for me. He did try to sell me on some fillers additionally but I passed on those because I have a cosmetic surgeon  whom I  already go to for that. I ended up investing around $550 for the new products. When I first started using them my skin reacted to them. But once my skin got used to it all the results have been amazing.  I get many compliments from people asking what I use for my skin because it looks so good. All breakouts are undercontrol and if I do happen to get a blemish here and there the product's that I have knock it out in less than a few days. I've tried many skincare lines and not had as good as results as I do with Obagi. For my follow-up visit I decided just to see the physicians assistant because I felt that paying $250 just for a follow-up with Obagi himself was a bit steep especially since my skin has improved and was looking great . His PA charges a lower fee that is more reasonable. That is my only reasoning for the four stars because I think his pricing is a bit high for a 20 minute visit. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.